My Immortal

It would occur, that as I’m writing about the beginning conversations Seventhsin and I shared, “My Immortal” by Evanescence comes on my Pandora mix. It was followed up by “Name” by the Goo Goo Dolls. Fate, as it seems, has a funny way of telling me that I’m doing exactly what I should be doing at this very moment in time.

My Immortal – Evanescence

Check out this song; tell me that it’s not perfect, if you can.

❤ – Las

    • Mom
    • April 17th, 2012

    The song is perfect in a few situations in your life I think. This of course, being one of them. And yes…you are doing exactly what you are supposed to be doing. Writing….Painting…Creating….Living!

    Love you!

  1. Beethoven’s “Immortal Beloved” was inspiration for the title, not lyrically. Gary Oldman became interested in the inspiration for the song and this inspired the film Immortal Beloved released years before it was recorded by the band.

    The song is about my relationship with Michael Hutchence of INXS which I met at the age of 15 and him 23 in 1983 and continued to be in my life through all the hired model girlfriends and scandals. He would often refer to me as Michelle Bennet and to others called me Tiger Lily named for the Indian Peter Pan character after I took him to Noccalula Falls. The falls are named for the native American Indian who jumped into the falls when she could not marry the man she loved.

    When I wrote Mystify for INXS, I was inspired by Def Leppard’s Bringin On The Heartbreak for “leaving BROKEN hearts behind” and inspired the lyrics “Now I’m bound by the life you left behind” in My Immortal. The Def Leppard song also inspired me to write the duet BROKEN while sitting between Michael Hutchence and Adam Ant who had been on tour together in early ’83. Glad you like the song and thought you might be interested in the history behind it.

    • Thank you for the history of that song. I’ve always loved it, and it’s always been an apt song for many instances in my life. Especially with this project, it’s so spot on for most of my thoughts behind the characters and their relationship.

      Again, thank you for that information and I apologize for the length of time it took me to respond to your comment. I appreciate your interest greatly, and hope to hear more from you in the future! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment